Just East of Normal

Crohnically Ill, Uncategorized

“You’re showing signs of remission.”

The words every patient wants to hear… until they’re followed with:

“We think your symptoms are due to your post-surgical anatomy. Consider this your new normal.”

Awesome. So I can’t eat like a normal person. I can’t exercise like a normal person. I can’t even perform a stream of normal daily tasks like a normal person.

Nope.

My normal is just east of normal. Better, but not quite there. And not only will I never get there, I should just stop trying.

Ouch.

Mega ouch.

But then I slap myself upside the head.

I’m ALIVE.

I may feel like several cement trucks ran me over when I get up in the mornings, and I may experience several severe bouts of nausea throughout the day (I might even hurl), and I just may have a severe stomach ache, one that makes me look pregnant and doubles me over, but I am still alive. I have the privilege of groaning myself awake every morning. I’m granted the opportunity to trudge through each day, and I have a beautiful family to come home to each night, no matter how much we drive each other crazy.

I’m living this thing called life, and not everyone gets to.

I almost didn’t.

If east of normal is what I’ve been dealt, I’ll accept it graciously. It allows me to relish each day I get, pains and all, to the fullest. I will find positives in everything, no matter how scarce they seem. Life is meant to be lived and loved, and I aim to do that, no matter how bad it all seems.

Will you?

 

One thought on “Just East of Normal

  1. I admire your attitude and the way you are working at being positive. It’s not always easy, and it takes a lot of work to keep it up. I know from experience that it’s exhausting to try to keep up the smile sometimes when trying to adjust to the “new normal.” Blessings to you as you love life and appreciate each day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

