You. Kick. Butt!

Crohnically Ill

While scrolling through posts on #GetYourBellyOut, a UK based support group for IBDers, it astonishes me just how strong we all are, and we don’t even realize it! Yeah, life is tough. But far too many people with IBD deal with the crap of life AND a chronic illness. Sure, it affects us to different degrees, but that struggle is still real.

Pushing through a work week while feeling like death? Done.

Taking care of kids, loved ones, being there for friends, all while wishing you had two seconds to take care of yourself? No problem.

Handling various crises from financial to personal? Sure, bring it on.

Okay, so we don’t always do it with finesse. We may whine, and pout, and kick and scream and shake our fists crying it’s not fair. But once the tantrum is over, we get up, dust ourselves off, and keep going.

Does anyone realize this can be a rare quality? Do you ever listen to “healthy people” problems and think “gee, wish that was all I had to deal with?”

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not minimizing “healthy people problems,” as everyone’s struggle is real. But I just want you, the chronically ill, to take a moment and appreciate your strength. So what if you don’t FEEL strong? Fighting through pain, nausea, bloating, vomiting, fatigue, joint pain, side effects from medications, various procedures, surgeries, the list goes on and on and ON…you push through that AND the muck of life. So for that, I say, bravo. Recognize your own power.

For those of you feeling beat down, low, and just sick of it all, this is for you. You can do ANYTHING you set your mind to! I know it can seem impossible; I know it sucks. And you’re certainly allowed to feel all the dark emotions you are experiencing, but I just want to remind you it will get better. Half the battle is our attitude, and positivity is a powerful thing. Yes, it only goes so far, but attitude is the one thing we CAN control throughout this illness. Crohn’s may control my body, but I’ll be damned if it gets to control my mind, too.

I find it helpful, when I get down, to block out a specific amount of time when I’m allowed to feel dark and stormy. I lie in bed, binge watch TV, write crap poetry, or play piano. At the end of that period, be it hours or days (depending on how sick I am), I get up, get dressed, and readdress the world ready to take it by the horns. We must allow ourselves to feel the emotions associated with this disease, but we must also learn to pull ourselves out of it and enjoy life.

What about you? What is your coping strategy when dealing with IBD?

Leave a Reply

