#crohnsfighter

Crohnically Ill

Going from track star to THIS AWFUL BODY took years of highs and lows, and while I feel infinitely stronger mentally, my body isn’t a fan. When I took my stepson to the trampoline park a few weeks ago, it shocked me how exhausted I felt just from ten minutes of bouncing around. While he scaled the ninja course with ease, I had to cling on for dear life.

The problem with Crohn’s and staying fit is the unpredictability. It seems each time I finally set a routine, finally start the path to getting in shape, Crohn’s pushes back and knocks me down. So, I dust myself off, get back up, start over, only to get knocked down again.

Living with a stricture makes eating right impossible for now. Low residue diet keeps stool passing through to a minimum, but that requires eating crap food like mashed potatoes, toast, white rice, pasta, etc. Forget the fruits and veggies! I know, I shouldn’t complain because my weight isn’t terrible, but it’s the principle of the matter. I would be someone different, physically speaking, if it weren’t for this disease, and it’s a constant mind game.

So, that being said, I’ve decided enough is enough. I WILL keep my body strong, even if it means doing bare minimum, or nothing at all when I truly can’t, but getting back up sooner than I have been. Will I get knocked back down again? I can count on it. But I’m done with the pity party. I don’t care if it’s walking, yoga, a few stretches, ANYTHING. I’m fighting back, and maybe I’ll land a punch on Crohn’s for once.

I’ll keep you posted, along with random thoughts, tidbits, or advice I may have. Just depends on the day and my mood.

And if you are wanting other tidbits, check out Crohn’s Knows @ https://crohnsknows.wordpress.com/

The author is some trivia crack genius…:( And apparently knows about Crohn’s.

One thought on “#crohnsfighter

Leave a Reply

